援助種

財務援助有幾種基本形式:減免費用、助學金與獎學金 (您不需要償還),工讀助學金 (您需要工作以換取補助),以及貸款 (您必須要償還) 許多學生符合 前稱 或加州社區學院專屬的其他資助之資格。

前稱 費用減

前稱 」是專門為加州社區學院的學生設立的。「BOG 」將免除您在全州任何社區大學的每學分註冊費用 (目前為 46 美元)。在 2013-14 學年中,超過一百萬名加州社區學院的學生獲得了「 前稱 」,財務援助總額超過 8.03 億美金。

 

請按一下以下連結以下載 BOG 申請表: 2016-2017 年申請表,另有西班牙文版本 填完申請表以後,您需要將其寄到或親自拿到您的社區大學財務援助辦公室。如需您大學財務援助辦公室的聯絡資訊,您可以使用本頁面右側的郵遞區號定位工具。  

 

如果您符合以下條件,您就具有「BOG 」資格:
  • 您是加州社區學院的學生,並已經被認定為本州居民,或不必繳納 AB 540 底下所列之非居民的費用,並且;
  • 依照財務援助辦公室對您的「聯邦學生援助免費申請表」(FAFSA)所做的評估,您被認定為有財務需求的學生;或者
  • 目前正在接受 TANFSSI/SSP 或一般資助;或者
  • 符合以下 2015-2016 年收入標準:

家庭人數

2014 年收入

1

17,505 美元

2

23,595 美元

3

29,685 美元

4

35,775 美元

5

41,865 美元

6

47,955 美元

7

54,045 美元

8

60,135 美元

每多一位家庭成員

6,090 美元

一旦您獲得 BOG 資格,請確保您符合新的特定學術和學業進步標準,以免失去資格。這裡提供 2016 年秋季 BOG 異動的所有相關資料,並說明您該怎麼做才能持續符合資格。  前往

 

 

聯邦助學

助學金是一種很好的財務援助形式,因為您不必償還 (除非您退學且被認定積欠退款)。助學金可能來自聯邦或來自本州政府。

聯邦助學金 ( 裴爾助學金聯邦附加教育機會助學金),都是依照財務需求而非成績或班級名次頒發的助學金。  查飛獎學金適用於目前或曾經在 16 18 歲期間生活在寄養家庭,且目前正在就讀或打算就讀加州社區學院。 名額有限,所以請儘早申請。

加州助學金

加州助學金是由加州政府補助,面向符合學術、財務與資格要求的加州社區學院的學生。

加州助學金有幾種不同類型:
  • 加州 A 類助學金權利性獎勵是為剛剛畢業的高中生設計的,可用於支付公立與私立學院與大學的學費與費用。在加利福尼亞州立大學 (CSU) 與加州大學 (UC),此種加州助學金可在全部的教育體系中適用,最高補助金額分別是 5,472 12,240 美元。如果您就讀私立大學,它最多可以支付 9,084 美元的學費與費用。若要獲得此加州助學金,您需要就讀兩年或四年制學位。 然而,如果您正就讀一間社區大學,除非您轉學至符合資格的學院或大學,否則您將無法獲得這筆助學金。如需更多了解此類加州助學金,請與您的財務援助辦公室洽談。
  • 加州 B 類助學金權利性獎勵是為低收入一年級學生提供的津貼,金額可達 1,670 美元,用於支付教育相關書籍費與生活費;對於全時間就讀社區大學的學生,它更額外提供高達 600 美元的資助。如果您轉到四年制學院或大學,除了給予約 1,670 美金的生活津貼以外,加州 B 類助學金還會幫助您支付與加州 A 類助學金同額的學費與費用。 若要申請加州 B 類助學金,您必須至少完成一學年的課程。
  • 加州 C 類助學金補助能幫助您支付學費,以及工作、技術或職業課程的訓練費用。 此筆 547 美元的補助可用來購買書籍、工具與設備。您也可以額外獲得最高達 2,462 美元,以支付加州社區學院以外其他學校的學費。如要符合資格,您必須註冊就讀加州社區學院、私立大學或職業技術學校的職業課程至少四個月。經費提供可長達兩年,具體視您課程的持續時間而定
  • 加州 A 類助學金轉學權利性獎勵: 社區大學生也可以在就讀社區大學的同時,申請並領取轉學權利性獎勵。 然而該獎勵必須在您轉入四年制學院或大學時立即啟用。 加州 A 類助學金轉學權利性獎勵可用於支付公立與私立學院及大學的學費與費用。在加利福尼亞州立大學 (CSU) 與加州大學 (UC),此種加州助學金可在全部的教育體系中適用,最高補助金額分別是 5,472 12,240 美元。如果您就讀私立大學,它最多可以支付 9,084 美元的學費與費用。
  • 加州 B 類助學金轉學權利性獎勵:如果您獲得加州 B 類助學金轉學權利性獎勵 (面向低收入學生),您必須在轉入四年制學院或大學時立即啟用。一旦轉學,除了一筆大約 1,670 美元、可用於支付教育費用的生活津貼外,加州 B 類助學金會還可支付與加州 A 類助學金同額的學費與費用。

加州 A 類與 B 類助學金競爭性獎勵面向沒有資格獲得權利性獎勵的學生。競爭性獎勵與權利性獎勵主要的差異在於,競爭性獎勵名額非常有限。

  • 加州 A 類助學金競爭性獎勵面向 GPA 至少達到 3.0 的中低收入家庭的學生。這類助學金可用於支付在合格學校至少就讀兩年之課程的學費與費用。 此類助學金的要求與加州 A 類助學金權利性獎勵類似,社區大學生只有在轉入合格的學院或大學時才會獲得助學金。
  • 加州 B 類助學金競爭性獎勵面向 GPA 至少達到 2.0 的貧困與低收入家庭的學生。這類助學金可用於支付合格學院與大學裡至少就讀一年之課程的學費、費用及其他費用。如果您獲得加州 B 類助學金競爭性獎勵,您將會在第一年收到 1,670 美元以支付學業相關的開銷,如交通、學習用品與書籍費用,而全時間在社區大學就讀的學生,還會額外獲得高達 600 美元的資助。從第二年開始,加州 B 類助學金競爭性獎勵可用來支付四年制公立或私立學院或其他合格學校的學費 (若適用) 與費用。

若要申請加州助學金,學生必須在截止日期前提交 FAFSA 與經查驗的加州助學金 GPA 兩者。您在同時申請權利性獎勵與競爭性獎勵時,請留意加州助學金最重要的截止日期,即每年 3 2 日。您若於此截止日期前申請,將可獲得最多的補助金額。  然而,如果您錯過了此截止日期,社區大學生還有一次申請的機會。  9 2 日是加州助學金競爭性獎勵的最後截止日期,但這些助學金額度極為有限。


需要更多了解加州助學金嗎? 點選這裡

 

獎學金

各種機構組織所提供的獎學金有數千種,這些獎學金並不難獲取。  例如您可能因為自己是優秀學生、優秀球員、特定教會成員、父母在特定公司上班、自己有興趣追求特定職業生涯,或其他原因而獲得獎學金。  獎學金一般都不需要償還,獎學金的類型在不同的大學可能有所不同。

有一種獎學金是所有加州社區學院都提供的,它就是加州社區學院獎學金資助 (CCCSE-Osher) 請務必向您的社區大學獎學金計劃辦公室咨詢,以把握申請機會。  

每年都會開放不同的獎學金與助學金供學生申請。請查看我們的有用連結 頁面,在網路上搜尋免費的獎學金查詢網站。

 

學生貸款

學生必須償還用於支付大學費用的學生貸款。「聯邦直接學生貸款計劃」與提供教育貸款的私人貸款機構都能提供貸款。一般來說,聯邦貸款計劃規則提供明顯優惠的條件及利息,而且償還方式還有較大的彈性。值得留意的是,並非所有的加州社區學院都會提供學生貸款。請諮詢財務援助辦公室以了解是否提供有貸款,以及哪些貸款對您是最合理的。

 

工讀

工讀計劃是您透過校園或社區兼職工作賺錢支付學費的絕佳方式。如果您的大學助學金方案提供工讀機會,您最終所能獲得的補助金額,視乎您的財務援助分配與您可以工作的小時數而定。請針對適合您的選項,諮詢財務援助辦公室。學校通常都會在整個學年及暑期課程期間提供工讀機會。

每個星期工作 10-15 個小時將會減輕您的財務負擔,而且,根據某些研究,在這段期間您的成績與時間管理技巧還能獲得提升。很多雇主會在雇用新員工時會查看其過去的工作經驗。  因此工讀應當會帶給您寶貴的職場技能,以及大學畢業後在工作申請方面的優勢。

財務援助辦公室定位工具

輸入您的郵遞區號,以尋找最近的財務援助辦公室

Types of Aid

Financial aid comes in a few basic types: fee waivers, grants and scholarships (which you don't have to pay back), work study (which requires you to work in exchange for money), and loans (which you DO have to pay back). Many students qualify for a Board of Governors (BOG) Fee Waiver or other assistance specifically for California community colleges.

Board of Governors (BOG) Fee Waiver

The Board of Governors (BOG) Fee Waiver is available specifically for students at California community colleges. The BOG Fee Waiver will waive your per-unit enrollment fee (currently $46) at any community college throughout the state. For the 2013-14 academic year, more than one million California community college students received a Board of Governors (BOG) Fee Waiver, totaling more than $803 million in financial aid.

 

Click the following link to download the BOG application: 2017-2018 Application, also available in Spanish. Once you complete the application, you'll need to mail or hand deliver it to your community college's financial aid office. To find contact information for your college's financial aid office, you can use the zip code locator on the right side of this page.  

 

You may qualify for the BOG Fee Waiver if you:
  • Are a student at a California community college, and have been determined to be a resident, or to be exempt from non-resident fees under AB 540, and;
  • Have financial need, based on a financial aid office review of your Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), or;
  • Are receiving TANF, SSI/SSP or General Assistance, or;
  • Meet the following 2017-18 income standards:
Family Size 2015 Income
1 $17,820
2 $24,030
3 $30,240
4 $36,450
5 $42,660
6 $48,870
7 $55,095
8 $61,335
Each Additional Family Member $6,240

Once you’ve qualified for the BOG Fee Waiver, it’s important to ensure you meet certain new academic and progress standards in order to avoid losing it. Here you will find everything you need to know about the Fall 2016 BOG Fee Waiver Changes and determine what you need to do to remain eligible. GO

 

Federal

 Grants

Grants are a great type of financial aid because they don't have to be paid back (unless you withdraw from school and have been determined to owe a refund). Grant money can come either from the federal government or from the state.

Federal grants, like Pell Grants or Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, are awarded based on financial need, not grades or class rank.  Chafee Grants are available if you are or were in foster care between the ages of 16 and 18, and are attending or planning to attend a California community college. There are a limited number available, so apply early.

Cal Grants

Cal Grants are funded by the State of California and are available to California community college students who meet academic, financial and eligibility requirements.

There are several different types of Cal Grants:
  • Cal Grant A Entitlement awards are for recent high school graduates and can be used for tuition and fees at public and private colleges and universities. At CSU and UC schools, this Cal Grant covers system-wide fees up to $5,472 and $12,240 respectively. If you attend a private college, it pays up to $9,084 toward tuition and fees. To get this Cal Grant, you need to be working toward a two-year or four-year degree.  However, if you are attending a community college, you will not receive your funds until you transfer to an eligible college or university. To learn more about this type of Cal Grant, talk with your financial aid office.
  • Cal Grant B Entitlement awards provide first-year, low-income students with an allowance of up to $1,670 for educational-related books and living expenses plus up to an additional $600 for students attending full-time at a community college. If you transfer to a four-year college or university, Cal Grant B also helps pay tuition and fees in the same amount as a Cal Grant A, in addition to the approximately $1,670 living allowance.  For a Cal Grant B, your coursework must be for at least one academic year.
  • Cal Grant C awards help pay for tuition and training costs for occupational, technical, or vocational programsThis $547 award is for books, tools and equipment. You may also receive up to an additional $2,462 for tuition at a school other than a California community college. To qualify, you must enroll in a vocational program that is at least four months long at a California community college, private college, or a career technical school. Funding is available for up to two years, depending on the length of your program.
  • Cal Grant A Transfer Entitlement Awards: Community college students may also apply for and receive a Transfer Entitlement award while attending a community college.  However, the award must be activated once you transfer to a four-year college or university.  The Cal Grant A Transfer Entitlement award can be used for tuition and fees at public and private colleges and universities. At CSU and UC schools, this Cal Grant covers system-wide fees up to $5,472 and $12,240 respectively. If you attend a private college, it pays up to $9,084 toward tuition and fees. 
  • Cal Grant B Transfer Entitlement Awards: If you receive a Cal Grant B Transfer Entitlement award, which is for low-income students, it must be activated once you transfer to a four-year college or university. Once you transfer, Cal Grant B helps pay tuition and fees in the same amount as a Cal Grant A, in addition to the approximately $1,670 living allowance that can be used for education expenses. 

Cal Grant A and B Competitive Awards are for students who aren't eligible for the Entitlement awards. The main difference is that these awards are not guaranteed.

  • Cal Grant A Competitive Awards are for students with a minimum 3.0 GPA who are from low- and middle-income families. These awards help pay tuition and fees at qualifying schools with academic programs that are at least two years in length. Similar to Cal Grant A Entitlement, community college students will not receive funds from these awards until they transfer to an eligible college or university.
  • Cal Grant B Competitive Awards are for students with a minimum 2.0 GPA who are from disadvantaged and low-income families. These awards can be used for tuition, fees and other costs at qualifying colleges and universities with academic programs that are at least one year in length. If you get a Cal Grant B Competitive Award, you will receive up to $1,670 in your first year for educationally related expenses, such as transportation, supplies and books plus up to an additional $600 for students attending full-time at a community college. Beginning with the second year, a Cal Grant B Competitive Award can be used to help pay tuition (if applicable) and fees at public or private four-year colleges or other qualifying schools.

To apply for a Cal Grant, students need to submit both the FAFSA and a verified Cal Grant GPA by the deadline. The most important Cal Grant deadline is March 2 every year, when you can apply for both the Entitlement and Competitive awards. Applying by this deadline will maximize the amount of aid you can receive.  However, if you miss this deadline, community college students have another chance to apply.  September 2 is the final deadline for Cal Grant Competitive awards, but these are extremely limited.


Want to find out more about Cal Grants? Click here.

 

Scholarships

There are thousands of scholarships, from all kinds of organizations, and they’re not hard to find.  For example, you might be able to get a scholarship for being a good student, a great soccer player, a member of a certain church, because your parent works for a particular company, you’re interested in pursuing a certain career path, or for some other reason.  Scholarships generally do not have to be repaid, and the types of scholarships available can vary from college to college. 

One type of scholarship that’s available at every California community college is the California Community Colleges Scholarship Endowment (CCCSE-Osher). Be sure to check with your community college's scholarship program office to identify opportunities available to you.   

There are a variety of scholarships and fellowships available every year. Check out our Helpful Links page for free scholarship search sites on the web.

 

Student Loans

Student loans for your college costs have to be paid back. There are loans available through the Federal Direct Student Loan Program, as well as private lenders who provide education loans. Generally speaking, the federal loan program rules provide significantly better terms and rates and greater flexibility in repayment. It’s important to note that not all California community colleges offer student loans. Talk to your financial aid office to see if loans are available and, if so, what types of loans make the best sense for you.

 

Work Study

Work study programs are a great way for you to earn money for college through part-time jobs on campus or in the community. If work study is offered as part of your financial aid package, the amount you can ultimately receive will depend on your financial aid allocation and how many hours you can work. Talk to a financial aid office about your options. Work study jobs are often offered throughout the school year, as well as during summer sessions.

Working 10-15 hours a week will ease your financial burden and, according to some studies, could help improve your grades and time management skills in the process. Many employers look at past work experience when hiring new staff.  So, work study should give you valuable workplace skills, as well as a possible advantage when applying for a job after college.

Financial Aid Office Locator

Enter your zip code to find the nearest financial aid office